PROF Susan Walker

PROF Susan Walker


  • Perinatal Medicine



  • Professor Susan Walker is the Head of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology since 2016 and also the Director of Perinatal Medicine at Mercy Hospital for Women. She was awarded the Sheila Handbury Chair of Maternal Fetal Medicine, University of Melbourne. She is currently the Clinical Director of the Victorian Fetal Therapy Service, a 3 centre collaboration responsible for delivering fetal surgery services to the women of Victoria. She serves on numerous RANZCOG committees, including as Deputy Chair of the Women's Health Committee and Chair of the Maternal Fetal Medicine sub-specialty. She teaches at The University of Melbourne, La Trobe University and University of Papua New Guinea. Her research interests focus on improving the detection and management of fetal growth disorders, treatments for pre-eclampsia and prevention of stillbirth. She leads the Perinatal Sleep Research Group, in collaboration with Austin Health (Institute of Breathing and Sleep), identifying the potential impact of Obstructive Sleep Apnoea on perinatal outcomes.

    Professor Walker has over 130 publications. Most are published in leading specialist journals of her field and in prestigious interdisciplinary journals. She currently holds three NHMRC grants with the total funding in excess of $1.5 million. Since 2011, Prof. Walker secured over $500,000 in additional philanthropic funding.

    Professor Walker is currently Associate Editor for ANZJOG, the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, which is the official journal for RANZCOG and also a peer reviewer for numerous grant panels and specialty journals.   


Member of

  • Consultative Council on Maternal & Perinatal Mortality, Victoria. Neonatal Subcommittee 2005 -
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. Member 2004 -


Selected publications


Investigator on


Education and training

  • BS, Institution not known
  • MD, University of Melbourne
  • DipRACOG, Institution not known
  • MB, Institution not known

Awards and honors

  • Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), 2018, 2018



Available for supervision

  • Y