PROF Sharon Lewin

PROF Sharon Lewin


  • Director, The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity



  • Professor Sharon Lewin, Director of the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity

    Professor Sharon Lewin is an infectious diseases physician and scientist that is internationally renowned for her research into all aspects of HIV disease and pathogenesis. She is the inaugural director of the Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity at the University of Melbourne; consultant physician at the Alfred Hospital; and an Australian National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Practitioner Fellow. She was previously Head, Department of Infectious Diseases, The Alfred Hospital and Monash University (2003 – 2014) and Co-head, Centre for Biomedical Research, Burnet Institute (2010-2014). Her laboratory focuses on strategies to cure HIV infection, immune reconstitution following antiviral therapy and pathogenesis of HIV-Hepatitis B co-infection. She was the local co-chair of the 20th International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2014) which was held in Melbourne July 2014 and was the largest health conference ever held in Australia. She is on the leadership team of the International AIDS Society’s Strategy Towards an HIV Cure and a member of the Australian Government Ministerial Advisory Committee on Blood Borne Viruses and Sexually Transmitted Infections.

    The Lewin/Cameron laboratory:
    Sharon Lewin heads a research laboratory with the following research themes:
    1.  HIV reservoir virology:
    2.  Immunmodulation in HIV infection
    3.  HIV and HBV co-infection
    4.  Clinical research   


Member of

  • Burnet Institute Board of Directors. Director of the Board, Burnet Institute 2014 -
  • Department of Infectious Diseases, Monash University. Adjunct Professor 2014 -
  • Department of Infectious Diseases, The Alfred. Consultant Physician 2014 -
  • University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Academic Icon Visiting Professor, Centre of Excellence for Research in AIDS 2014 -
  • International AIDS Society. International AIDS Society 2005 -
  • Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Melbourne. Honorary Professor 2003 -
  • Royal Australian College of Physicians. Royal Australian College of Physicians 2002 -
  • Australasian Society for HIV Medicine. Member, Australasian Society for HIV Medicine 1999 -
  • Victorian Infectious Diseases Service, Royal Melbourne Hospital. Consultant physician 1999 -
  • Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases. Member, Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases 1997 -
  • World Health Organisation (WHO). Strategic and Technical Advisory Committee on HIV 2015 - 2017
  • Centre for Virology, Burnet Institute. Co-Head, Centre for Virology 2009 - 2014
  • INSIGHT. Immunology Interest Group 2008 - 2011
  • Australian Centre for HIV and Hepatitis. Member, Australian Centre for HIV and Hepatitis 2002 - 2010
  • University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Masters of Medicine Program, University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 2006
  • The Rockefeller University Hospital, The Rockefeller University, New York. Attending Physician 1998 - 1999
  • Infectious Diseases and Internal Medicine, Royal Melbourne Hospital. Consultant physician 1995 - 1997


Selected publications


Investigator on

Additional Grant Information

  • 2012-2015 Clinical trial (Merck): Vorinostat in patients on combination antiretroviral therapy: Extension study. (PI Lewin)
    2015-2016 Clinical trial (ViiV): Dolutegravir Intensification Study. (PI Lewin)
    2011-2016 NHMRC Partnership Grant 1012459: HealthMap clinical trial. (CIC Lewin)
    2011-2016 University of Malaya: Identifying Novel Host Determinants of Immune Recovery Following cART in HIV-Infected Patients in Malaysia (Co-I Lewin)
    2011-2015 NIH Program Grant U19 AI096109: Delaney AIDS Research Enterprise (DARE) to find a cure. (Project Leader Lewin)
    2012-2015 NHMRC Project Grant 1024406: Liver disease in HIV-HBV co-infection. (CIA Lewin)
    2012-2015 Danish Medical Council: Safety, Efficacy of HDACi Panobinostat for Purging HIV from The Latent Reservoir (CLEAR). (Co-I Lewin)
    2013-2016 NHMRC Practitioner Fellowship 1042654: Improving the lives of people living with HIV. (Lewin PS3)
    2013-2016 NHMRC Project Grant 1050074: Polymorphisms in the IL7 receptor. (AI Lewin)
    2013-2016 NHMRC Project Grant 1041795: The role of dendritic cells in HIV latency. (CIB Lewin)
    2014-2019 NHMRC Program Grant 1052979: HIV latency, pathogenesis and immunity. (Co-I Lewin)
    2014-2017 NHMRC Project Grant 1058891: The impact of HIV integration sites on eliminating HIV latency. (AI Lewin)
    2014-2015 Oregon National Primate Research Centre: Eliminating latent SIV reservoir in rhesus macaques using Alemtuzumab. (CIA Lewin)
    2014-2019 Wellcome Trust: Mechanisms of HIV disease limitation and cure revealed in paediatric infection. (Co-I Lewin)
    2014-2015  NIH U19 DARE supplement: Eliminating the latent SIV reservoir in rhesus macaques (RM)   


Education and training

  • PhD, Monash University 1997
  • MBBS, Monash University 1986

Awards and honors

  • Officer of the Order of Australia, AO, 2019
  • The Gertrude Elion Distinguished Lecturer Award, HIV DART, 2014
  • Melburnian of the Year 2014, 2014
  • The 20th Annual B. Frank Polke HIV Research Lecture 2014, Johns Hopkins University, 2014
  • Hadassah Australia 2014 Tikun Olam Award, Hadassah Australia, 2014
  • Falicitation award for outstanding contribution to HIV Research, Mumbai HIV Congress 2012, 2012
  • Best paper published in 2010, Burnet Institute, Melbourne, Australia, 2011
  • Victorian AIDS Council / Gay Mens Health Centre Annual Research Award, Victorian AIDS Council / Gay Mens Health Centre, 2011
  • Frank Fenner Award, Burnet Institute, Melbourne, Australia, 2011
  • Zeneca Travel Scholarship 2000, Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases, 2011
  • Outstanding reviewer award, Clinical Infectious Diseases Journal, 2011
  • GlaxoSmithKline Advanced Research Award (now called the Frank Fenner award), Australian Society for Infectious Diseases, 2002
  • Best poster prize: HBV viral dynamics, International Conference on Antiviral Chemotherapy, 2001
  • Wiliamson Community Leadership Program, Wiliamson Community Leadership Program, 2000
  • The Potter Fellowship for Infectious Diseases, Royal Melbourne Hospital, 1999
  • Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, 1997
  • Smith Kline Travel Scholarship, Australian Society for Infectious Diseases, 1996
  • The Fairfield Hospital Research scholarship, Fairfield Hospital, 1993
  • The Sophie Davis Memorial Prize for overall highest aggregate marks for the medical course, Monash University, 1986
  • Lilly Industries Research Fellowship to study "The hormonal control of testicular descent", Lilly Industries, 1985
  • The David Rosenthal Prize for the highest aggregate marks for anatomy and third year medicine, Monash University, 1983


Available for supervision

  • Y

Supervision Statement

  • The Lewin/Cameron laboratory:
    Professor Sharon Lewin co-heads a research laboratory together with Associate Professor Paul Cameron. 

    Honors, BMedSci and PhD research projects are available in the following areas:

    1. HIV Latency reversing agents (HIV Cure): Contact Dr Jenny Anderson
    2. Dendtritic Cells and Immunmodulation in HIV infection: Contact A/Prof Paul Cameron
    3. HIV Reservoir virology: Contact Dr Michael Roche
    4. HIV and HBV co-infection: Contact Dr Megan Crane
    5. Clinical research: Contact Ajantha Rhodes