PROF Adrienne Stone

PROF Adrienne Stone


  • Academic, Law
  • Comparative Law
  • Constitutional Law
  • Free Speech Law
  • Freedom of Expression
  • Human Rights Law
  • Legal Theory



  • Adrienne Stone holds a Chair at Melbourne Law School where she is also a Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellow, a Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor and Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies. She researches in the areas of constitutional law and constitutional theory and holds an Australia Laureate Fellowship (2017-2021).

    She has published widely in international journals including in the Vienna Journal on International Constitutional Law; International Journal of Constitutional Law, Constitutional Commentary , the Toronto Law Journal and in the Oxford Journal of Legal Studies . With Cheryl Saunders AO she is editor of the Oxford Handbook on the Australian Constitution and with Frederick Schauer, she is editor of the forthcoming Oxford Handbook on Freedom of Speech .

    She is the President of the International Association of Constitutional Law and is an elected Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia and Australian Academy of Law. Through the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies she is extensively engaged with government and non-governmental organisations on constitutional questions including freedom of speech, constitutional recognition of Indigenous Peoples, and bills of rights.

    She has held visiting positions in the United States, Canada and France. She delivered papers and lectures by invitation at many universities in Australia, North America, Europe and Asia.   


Member of

  • International Association of Constitutional Law. Member, Executive Committee 2007 -
  • Australian Association of Constitutional Law. Treasurer 2004 -


Selected publications



Education and training

  • Degree JSD, Columbia University 2002
  • Degree LL.M, Columbia University 1997
  • Degree LL.B, University of New South Wales 1992
  • Degree: B.A. (Philosophy), University of New South Wales 1991

Awards and honors

  • Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia, 2017
  • Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law, 2010


Available for supervision

  • Y