PROF Andy Gleadow

PROF Andy Gleadow


  • Geology, Geochronology and Tectonics (Thermochronology of the Continental Crust)



  • Professor Gleadow pioneered fission track thermochronology in Australia as a tool for geological dating and thermal history analysis, establishing Australia at the forefront of this field internationally. These techniques have been applied widely to studies of continental extension in global tectonics, the uplift of mountain ranges, sedimentary basin analysis and landscape evolution. He has been Professor and Head of Earth Sciences at both La Trobe and Melbourne Universities, and a Program Coordinator in both the Australian Geodynamics, and Predictive Mineral Discovery CRCs. His work has been recognised by numerous awards, including the Research Medal of the Royal Society of Victoria, the Stillwell and Selwyn Medals of the Geological Society of Australia, and the AINSE Gold Medal for Excellence in Research. He was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 1999 and awarded its Jaeger Medal for 2003. He is currently President of the Geological Society of Australia and Chair of the National Committee for Earth Sciences.   


Member of

  • The Geochemical Society. Member 2004 -
  • American Geophysical Union. Member 1990 -
  • Geological Society of America. Member 1975 -
  • Geological Society of Australia. Member, Past-President, National Executive Committee 1974 -
  • Petroleum Exploration Society of Australia. Member 1983 - 2011
  • Sigma-Xi Scientific Research Society. Member 1980 - 2011


Selected publications


Investigator on


Education and training

  • PhD, University of Melbourne 1974
  • BSc(Hons), University of Melbourne 1970

Awards and honors

  • Laslett Prize, International Thermochronology Community, 2014
  • F.L. Stillwell Medal, Geological Society of Australia, 2009
  • David White Award for Excellence in Teaching, University of Melbourne, 2007
  • National Carrick Award for Teaching Excellence - Physical Sciences, Carrick Institute, 2007
  • Jaeger Medal, Australian Academy of Science, 2004
  • Centenary Medal, Australian Government, 2003
  • Selwyn Medal, Geological Society of Australia, 2002
  • Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, 1999
  • Gold Medal for Excellence in Research, Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering, 1997
  • Special Investigator Award, Australian Research Council, 1996
  • Research Medal, Royal Society of Victoria, 1995



Available for supervision

  • Y