PROF James Angus

PROF James Angus


  • Analytical Pharmacology
  • Cardiovascular Pharmacology
  • Medicinal Use of Cannabis



  • Professor Angus has been an Honorary Professorial Fellow and Professor Emeritus of the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Melbourne since 2014. From 2003 to 2013, Prof. Angus was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences. Prof. Angus earned a Bachelor of Science in pharmacology with Honours and a Ph.D. from the University of Sydney. In 1974, he was a NHMRC Senior Research Officer at the Hallstrom Institute of Cardiology, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital & Department of Medicine at the University of Sydney, and the Baker Medical Research Institute in Prahran, Victoria. In 1977 he received the NHMRC CJ Martin Travelling Fellowship to work with Sir James Black who would go on to receive the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1988. Prof. Angus then continued to work at the Baker Medical Research Institute in a variety of roles over the next 15 years including Senior Research Officer, Research Fellow, Senior Research Fellow, Principal Research Fellow, and Senior Principal Research Fellow of the NHMRC. He was appointed Deputy Director of the Baker Medical Research Institute in 1992. In 1993, Prof. Angus was appointed to the Chair of Pharmacology at the University of Melbourne until he resigned in 2003 to become Dean of the Faculty. His appointments include Chair of the Melbourne Genomics Health Alliance Phase 1 (2014-2016), Governor and Director of the Howard Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health since 2003, member of the Program Steering Committee of the Australian Council of Learned Academies (2014-2016), member of the Steering Committee to establish the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (2013-2014), current President of the National Stroke Foundation, current Chair of the University of Melbourne Sport Board, current Board Director of the Jack Brockhoff Foundation since 2015 and current Chair of the Australian Advisory Council on Medicinal Use of Ca   


Selected publications


Investigator on


Education and training

  • PhD, University of Sydney 1974
  • BSc Hons, University of Sydney 1969

Awards and honors

  • Professor Emeritus, University of Melbourne, 2014
  • Officer of the Order of Australia, AO, 2010
  • Thomson ISI - Australian Citation Laureate in Pharmacology, 2004
  • Centenary Medal, 2003
  • Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, 1996
  • Alfred Gottschalk Medal, Australian Academy of Science, 1984