PROF David Dickson

PROF David Dickson


  • Recursive methods in risk theory, Renewal risk processes, Ruin theory



  • David Dickson graduated with a PhD from Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, in 1983. After leaving Heriot-Watt, David was an Actuarial Trainee with the Government Actuary's Department in London until 1985. David returned to Heriot-Watt as a lecturer in the Department of Actuarial Mathematics and Statistics until 1992. From 1989-92 David also worked as a part-time lecturer at the Department of Social Statistics at the University of Southampton. In 1993 David joined the Department of Economics' Centre for Actuarial Studies as a Senior Lecturer. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 1997 and appointed to the Chair of Actuarial Studies in March 2000. David has been a Fellow of the Faculty of Actuaries (Scotland) since 1987 and a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia since 1996. He is also Adjunct Professor in the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science, University of Waterloo, an Associate Editor of Insurance: Mathematics & Economics of Annals of Actuarial Science, a member of the Editorial Board of North American Actuarial Journal, and an Editor of ASTIN Bulletin. David is currently Head of Department.   


Selected publications



Education and training

  • PhD, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh 1983
  • BSc, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh 1980

Awards and honors

  • H M Jackson Prize, 2006, Institute of Actuaries of Australia, 2007
  • Dean's Prize for Exceptional Distinction in Research and Research Training, Faculty of Economics and Commerce, 2004
  • Research Prize, Institute of Actuaries, 2003
  • H M Jackson Prize, 1997, Institute of Actuaries of Australia, 1998
  • Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia, 1996
  • England Prize, Faculty of Actuaries Students' Society, 1988
  • Fellow of the Faculty of Actuaries, 1987


Available for supervision

  • N

Supervision Statement

  • I will not take on any new students during my term as Head of Department (ends December 2018).