PROF Margaret Abernethy

PROF Margaret Abernethy


  • Costing and performance measurement systems in manufacturing and service industries
  • Management control in hospitals
  • Strategy and design of control systems



  • Professor Margaret Abernethy holds the Sir Douglas Copland Chair of Commerce, Chair of Managerial Accounting; and is Director of the Melbourne Centre for Corporate Governance and Regulation (MCCGR). A leading researcher in cost accounting, budgeting, performance management, compensation design and corporate governance, Professor Abernethy has received in excess of $3 million in competitive research grants, provided expert advice to both the public and private sector, as well as serving on a number of boards. Prior to returning to the Department of Accounting in mid-2012, Professor Abernethy served as Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics for over eight years, during which she was instrumental in the implementation of the Melbourne Model, designed and commissioned a new $128m building; and built the reputation and standing of the Faculty as the leading business and economics school in the region. She was awarded the Telstra Business Woman of the Year (Government and Community) in 2008 for her outstanding contribution to higher education, and was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in 2011.   


Member of

  • Behavioral Research in Accounting. Editorial Board 2013 -
  • Journal of Management Accounting Research. Editorial Board 2009 -
  • Contemporary Accounting Research. Editor 2007 -
  • Management Accounting Research. Editorial Board 2006 -
  • Accounting Organizations and Society. Editorial Board 2005 -
  • Accounting, Auditing and Accountability Journal. Editorial Board 2003 -
  • Abacus. Editorial Board 2000 -
  • Accounting and Finance. Editorial Board 2000 -
  • Australian Accounting Review. Editorial Board 2000 -
  • American Accounting Association. Member 1993 -
  • AFAANZ. Member 1990 -
  • Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants. Registered 1982 - 2070


Selected publications



Education and training

  • BEc (Hons), La Trobe University
  • PhD, La Trobe University

Awards and honors

  • Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia, 2012
  • 2008 Telstra Business Woman of the Year (Community and Government Sector), 2008