PROF Stuart Greenbaum

PROF Stuart Greenbaum


  • Australian Contemporary Classical Music
  • Composition (music) (New Work)
  • Minimalism in contemporary music
  • Pop, Progressive Rock and The Blues
  • The Teaching and Learning of Composition
  • computer music notation and desktop publishing (Finale)



  • Having studied composition with Broadstock and Conyngham at the University of Melbourne, Stuart Greenbaum holds a position at the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music as Professor and Head of Composition. He is the author of over 200 works including 16 sonatas, 7 string quartets, 5 piano trios, 5 concertos, 3 symphonies and 2 operas. Greenbaum’s music is heard regularly in Australia and abroad. Nelson, a 3–act opera with libretto by Ross Baglin, was presented in London in 2005 and premiered in full at the 2007 Castlemaine State Festival. Their second opera, The Parrot Factory, received a 5-show season in 2010 staged by Victorian Opera at The Malthouse. Major choral works include The Foundling, commissioned by Cantori New York in 1997 and From the Beginning commissioned for the sesquicentenary of the Royal Melbourne Philharmonic in 2003. Greenbaum’s orchestral output includes works for the SSO, MSO, AYO, ACO and recently City Lights a Mile Up, commissioned by the Tasmanian Symphony orchestra. Major chamber works have been written for The Australia Ensemble, Southern Cross Soloists, Ensemble Liaison and the Grigoryan Brothers. He was a Featured Composer at the 2006 Aurora Festival, resident composer at the 2009 Port Fairy Spring Music Festival and Composer in Focus at the 2009 Bangalow Music Festival. In 2009 he was Australia's representative for the Trans-Tasman Composer Exchange, working in Auckland with NZTrio on a new piano trio, The Year Without a Summer, which toured nationally for Chamber Music New Zealand, in Sydney for the ISCM World New Music Days (2010) and internationally at the City of London Festival (2011). He was Featured Composer with the Flinders Quartet in 2016 and Resident Composer with MYO in 2019. Prizes include the Dorian Le Galliene Composition Award, the Heinz Harant Prize, and the Albert H. Maggs Composition Award. 90 Minutes Circling the Earth won Orchestral Work of the Year at the 2008 Classical Music Awards.    


Member of

  • Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners' Society. composer member 2006 -
  • Melbourne Composers League. composer member 2000 -
  • Fellowship of Australian Composers. Member / Vic. State Representative 1997 -
  • Australasian Performing Right Association. composer member 1993 -
  • Australian Music Centre. Represented Composer / Board Member 1993 -


Selected publications


Education and training

  • PhD (composition), University of Melbourne 1999
  • MMus, University of Melbourne 1992
  • BMus (Hons), University of Melbourne 1988

Awards and honors

  • This is a national award whose ceremony took place at the Sydney Opera House under the auspices of APRA and the AMC, Orchestral Work of the Year (2008 Classical Music Awards), 2008
  • Albert H. Maggs Composition Award, 2001
  • for best new Australian composition, Sydney Classical Saxophone Convention, Heinz Harant Prize, 1998
  • Melbourne Abroad Postgraduate Travelling Scholarship (UOM), 1997
  • Faculty of Music Postgraduate Scholarship (UOM), 1996
  • Dorian Le Galliene Composition Award, 1993
  • ANA Composition Award, 1991
  • APRA Commonwealth Postgraduate Scholarship (UOM), 1989
  • Lady Turner Exhibition, 1987
  • Ormond Exhibition, 1986



Available for supervision

  • Y

Supervision Statement

  • Composition (Contemporary Classical)